Microsoft had a change of heart, and it appears to be sending a full-screen alert to people who were pushed into syncing files to OneDrive when they first set up their PC or clean-installed Windows 11. The company has also dropped one of its worst dark patterns, where you could never permanently dismiss OneDrive backup alerts.
This week, when I turned on two of my PCs running stable builds of Windows 11 25H2, a full-screen pop-up appeared and asked me if I’d like to “Opt out of backup” or continue with OneDrive. I do not have the OneDrive sync client on these PCs, but Windows is configured to back up files, folders, settings, and credentials through the Windows Backup app.

Microsoft still recommends OneDrive to “protect your files and memories by backing up your PC,” and lists three benefits of this integration on Windows 11:
- Back up your PC with OneDrive’s cloud storage
- Don’t lose your files and memories
- Easily sync settings across multiple devices
But if you look closely, there’s now a prominent “Opt out of Backup” button, which means you can now explicitly tell Windows that you want to opt out of backup.
Previously, when the same full-screen experience popped up, you were typically asked to either Continue, which just enabled OneDrive and started syncing everything before you could figure out how to disable it, or select “Remind me in 3 days.” If you selected the reminder, Windows would simply bring the screen back later.
Here’s a screenshot showing the old full-screen nudges that appeared during regular Windows 11 use or when setting up a PC for the first time:

There was no obvious “No, I don’t want this” option, and it’s been documented hundreds of times on Reddit or Microsoft Q&A posts. In fact, OneDrive pop-ups would keep reappearing all the time, whether after some Windows update or totally out of nowhere, when you shut down and turned on your PC or casually rebooted it.
Microsoft has also used another approach during the Windows 11 setup experience. Instead of an obvious opt-out button, it forced you to sync everything to OneDrive or choose to do it later.
The new “Opt out of backup” option is much clearer and, unlike “Remind me in 3 days,” appears to be intended as an actual refusal rather than another snooze button.
And this is how it should have worked from the beginning. Microsoft can recommend OneDrive as much as it wants, and there are benefits to having files backed up in the cloud, but Windows should also make it equally obvious when you don’t want your files backed up to OneDrive.
You shouldn’t have to hunt for hacks to disable OneDrive or dismiss the same full-screen prompt every other day.
Microsoft was also caught installing OneDrive Photos on Windows 11 and 10 PCs, but that appears to have been paused and rolled back after the backlash. If anything, Microsoft is listening, but all of that should have been obvious to the trillion-dollar company.





















