Image Courtesy: ForTheLoveOfTech.com

Earlier last month we reported that Windows 10 Mobile users were having a Lock Screen Bug that exposed their photos to anyone who picked up your Phone. The company today rolled out a  new Windows 10 Mobile Cumulative Update for Production Ring users with version 14393.953 which contained lot of fixes and improvements for Windows 10 Mobile.

However the List of Fixes did not mention anything about the Lock Screen Bug which was reported by lot of users. When we tested our Mobiles we found that the Lock Screen Bug was not present with the Windows 10 Insider Preview builds. This would mean that the company has postponed the fix for the Lock Screen Bug till the launch of Windows 10 Creators update.

The company would be first releasing the Creators Update for PCs first and later to the Windows 10 Mobile, which would mean that the Lock Screen Bug will be available until the Creators Update releases for Mobile.

We are currently not sure on the time frame for the release of Windows 10 Mobile Creators Update. So to keep your Photo Library un exposed to other person’s make sure to disable the Camera Access from Lock Screen in the Lock Screen Settings.

  • gyan parkash

    Dear Akshay this is actually this is not a bug (os build 10.0.14393.693). You have to enable PIN protected lock screen. And press camera button on lock screen, you can only view the currently taken photo. If you press view all photos on the top then phone ask to enter for PIN. It means our photo gallery is safe.

    • Richie B

      You are correct my L830 is still on build 10.0.14393.693 and it does ask for the Pin when I choose view all photos from the lock screen.

    • F-Lambda

      That may be how it’s intended to work, but there is indeed a bug. Basically, they take a picture, delete it from the photo gallery, then go back and forth between the camera and photo gallery 2 more times, and on the third time opening the gallery, you have full access.

    • F-Lambda

      That may be how it’s intended to work, but there is indeed a bug.

      Basically, they take a picture, delete it from the photo gallery, then go back and forth between the camera and photo gallery 2 more times, and on the third time opening the gallery, you have full access.

      It’s difficult to discover by accident, which is probably why it’s been unnoticed so long.