WhatsApp team has finally decided to enable the most awaited feature for its more than One Billion users, “Delete for Everyone” feature. The team has been testing this feature for over a year now and has now finally enabled the feature for all users on iOS, Android, Windows Phone and Web platforms.
The roll out is really slow and the feature should be available for all users in the coming days. This new feature helps users who wrongly send message to revoke or delete before it is read by the recipient.
Users would need to have the latest version of the WhatsApp to be updated for this feature to work on all platforms. This feature was earlier called as “Revoke” but later the name was changed to “Delete for everyone”.
The Delete for Everyone feature works for any type of messages like Text Message, images, videos, GIFs, Voice Message, contact cards, files, locations, quoted messages and status replies.
The Recalled or Delete for Everyone feature will be deleted in the notifications centre for recipients on iOS at the same time when you have revoked it, but you would need to have an internet connection available.
For Android users the message will be updated as “This message was deleted for everyone” text. However users will not be able to delete a message for everyone if the message has been quoted since WhatsApp doesn’t recall this type of messages currently.
The Messages sent in the Broadcast list also do not support this feature currently and might be enabled in future. Users would need to act fast to revoke or recall the sent message as the time for revoking the message is only 7 minutes after which the message cannot be revoked or recalled.
As noted above the recipient of the message has to be on the latest WhatsApp version installed to have the delete for everyone feature working.
This feature also works for users on older versions of the application but will not work for Symbian users since WhatsApp has stopped supporting the platform. You will not be notified by WhatsApp if the message has been revoked or recalled if the recipient in on Symbian device.
The feature is being enabled for all users on all platforms including iOS, Android, Windows and WhatsApp Web/Desktop. This is a server side update and users will not be seeing any update in the respective app stores.
Do let us know if any of our users have got the “Delete for Everyone” feature activated on their phones, in the comments below. Make sure to mention the platform and device you are using.