Instagram is currently testing a new feature that lets users hide the published photos, keeping them tucked away in a private section of your profile that only you can view. The Photos can later be unhidden and also returned to their proper place in your profile.
The new feature is referred to as “Archive” and the ability to archive photos is starting to appear in the “….” menu where you could previously go to edit, share and delete photos. The archive option doubles as a way to keep people from deleting their photos and also have the option of hanging on to slightly embarrassing picture that users may still want to see again.
Instagram user can browse photos in their archive just like any other part of their profile. From inside archive the photos can be restored to the profile page for everyone to see them again.
The feature is currently under testing with Instagram Internally and should be made available in coming months or there are also chances that the option might never see the light of the day.
We will however keep you posted on the availability of the archive feature. When the feature is available, the archive will show up in the top right corner of the profile page in the app with a little pop up to highlight the new addition.