Yes, you heard it right Two Million users have been erroneously killed by a Facebook’s mistake. Well what was that let us take you through that mistake.
Earlier we have reported that Facebook had launched a feature called Memorialization Feature. The feature was launched to help the near ones and friends of the people who passed away to preserve their profiles with the option to allow any friend or a family member to login to the account and update profile pictures and also leave a final message in case the need arises.
Below are the features of the Memorialization feature:
- The word Remembering will be shown next to the person’s name on their profile
- Depending on the privacy settings of the account, friends can share memories on the memorialized Timeline
- Content the person shared (ex: photos, posts) stays on Facebook and is visible to the audience it was shared with
- Memorialized profiles don’t appear in public spaces such as in suggestions for People You May Know, ads or birthday reminders
- No one can log into a memorialized account
- Memorialized accounts that don’t have a legacy contact can’t be changed.
- Pages with a sole admin whose account was memorialized will be removed from Facebook if we receive a valid request.
In a big mistake, Facebook previewed the feature on many profiles of users which led to lot of users getting shocked when they came to know that they are dead due to the Memorialization Feature.
When Facebook apparently came to know about the mistake Facebook apparently apologised the mistake in a statement as below.
Facebook apologised for the incident, stating:
“For a brief period today, a message meant for memorialized pages was mistakenly posted to other accounts. This was a terrible error that we have now fixed. We are very sorry that this happened and we worked as quickly as possible to fix it”