Unicode… Doesn’t that name sound familiar?.. How about Emoji? Surely, you’ve heard of it. Anyway, Unicode is the wonderful code that allows you (Yes, you!) to use your computer in any language that you please, made possible by the Unicode Consortium. The Unicode Consortium (Love that name…) is a non-profit corporation devoted to developing and maintaining the Unicode Standard (among other things). Here’s an extract from their summary:

Unicode 9.0 adds exactly 7,500 characters, for a total of 128,172 characters. These additions include six new scripts and 72 new emoji characters.

The new scripts and characters in Version 9.0 add support for lesser-used languages worldwide, including:

  • Osage, a Native American language
  • Nepal Bhasa, a language of Nepal
  • Fulani and other African languages
  • The Bravanese dialect of Swahili, used in Somalia
  • The Warsh orthography for Arabic, used in North and West Africa
  • Tangut, a major historic script of China

Important symbol additions include:

  • 19 symbols for the new 4K TV standard
  • 72 emoji characters, such as new smilies and people, animals and nature, and food and drink

For the full list of emoji, see emoji additions for Unicode 9.0. For a detailed description of support for emoji characters by the Unicode Standard, see UTR #51, Unicode Emoji.

Other important updates in Unicode Version 9.0 include:

  • Significant updates to segmentation algorithms
  • Improvements in the charts for the Mongolian script

So yeah. But, Unicode did put in emoji, so uh… NEW EMOJI!!! The new standard brings in 72 brand new emoji, which are presented in the video and picture above, courtesy of emojipedia

So, are you planning to use these new emoji? Let us know in the comments below…